Websites
Online Databases
Britannica Library Reference Center
(US Food and Drug Administration) Site provides access to information on animal health, veterinary medicine, and animal feeds.
The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching.
Welcome to the Breeds of Livestock resource presented by the Department of Animal Science at Oklahoma State University. This site is intended as an educational and informational resource on breeds of livestock throughout the world.
A bibliography by the Science Reference Section of the Library of Congress.
(Merck & Co.) Free electronic access to the entire manual plus an additional 300 images, illustrations, and multimedia elements. Access through a browsable table of contents or search the full text. Includes an advanced search, featuring search by topic, species, specialty, disease, and keyword.
The department holds the largest collection of vertebrate specimens in the world, including historically important collections from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Research in the department provides a solid foundation of understanding for government agencies, conservation organizations, and individuals involved in fish and wildlife management.
Work with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.
General interest topics benefiting human and animal health.
Comprehensive guide to North American birds and bird watching from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Includes Bird Guide with identification, life history, sound and video recordings of each bird, with additional 'Birds of North America' material available to subscribers.
Learn more about avian visitors with Audubon's online bird ID guide, covering over 800 North American species.
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 17 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more. This site is managed by Denis Lepage and hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International.
The IOC World Bird List is an open access resource of the international community of ornithologists. Our goal is to facilitate worldwide communication in ornithology and conservation based on an up-to-date classification of world birds and a set of English names that follows explicit guidelines for spelling and construction (Gill & Wright 2006).
AmphibiaWeb provides information on amphibian declines, natural history, conservation, and taxonomy.
This database provides a catalog of all living reptile species and their classification. The database covers all living snakes, lizards, turtles, amphisbaenians, tuataras, and crocodiles. Currently there are more than 10,000 species including another 2,800 subspecies (statistics). The database focuses on taxonomic data, i.e. names and synonyms, distribution and type data and literature references.
FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department
Contains photographs and thoroughly researched information on many species of octopus, squid, cuttlefish, and other cephalopods.
Website maintained by an organization of volunteer marine biologists, students, professors, and conservation advocates maintains a library of scientific research.
NOAA Fisheries is responsible for the stewardship of the nation's ocean resources and their habitat. We provide vital services for the nation: productive and sustainable fisheries, safe sources of seafood, the recovery and conservation of protected resources, and healthy ecosystems—all backed by sound science and an ecosystem-based approach to management.
The Marine Mammal Laboratory (MML) conducts research on marine mammals important to the mission of the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) and the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), with particular attention to issues related to marine mammals off the coasts of Alaska, Washington, Oregon, and California.
Mammal Species of the World, 3rd edition (MSW3) is a database of mammalian taxonomy, based upon the 2005 book Mammal Species of the World. A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference (3rd ed).
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
A global, collaborative, and open encyclopedia that gathers and makes accessible information about living nature.
The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) is an international open data infrastructure, funded by governments. It allows anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet.
Information about rare and endangered species and threatened ecosystems. Includes access to technical reports, articles and some data. Also provides links to other useful sites.
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct.
As the world’s leading conservation organization, WWF works in nearly 100 countries. At every level, we collaborate with people around the world to develop and deliver innovative solutions that protect communities, wildlife, and the places in which they live.
Some elements of this guide were adapted from:
Web Resources - Animal Science - Research Guides at Rutgers University
