Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases: Databases

Minuteman High School Library Media Center

Databases

Back to Minuteman HS Library Media Center Home Page

ABOUT THE DATABASES

The Minuteman Library Media Center provides users access to a wide variety of databases on a multitude of topics.  Our databases allow you to access a vast amount of authoritative information quickly and efficiently.  All of our databases are available from anywhere in Massachusetts, most without a password.

GALE VIDEO TUTORIALS

HOW TO ACCESS GALE DATABASES & E-BOOKS

GALE DATABASES

VIDEO STREAMING DATABASE

Classroom Video on Demand (Infobase)

A compilation of video content spanning a wide variety of subject areas. This collection of 29,679 titles and 226,631 segments includes videos on subjects such as Career Development & Technical Education, Engineering & Technology, English/Language Arts, Health & Guidance, History, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Visual and Performing Arts, World Cinema, and World Languages. If prompted, login with Username and password

WORLD NEWS DIGEST

World News Digest (Infobase), formerly known as Facts On File, provides summaries of world and domestic news stories 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information. Maps and charts are included, as are graphs, historic photographs, and story indexes by decade, country, and topic. Included are Facts and Statistics from World News Almanac, as well as news roundups on a variety of topics and regions. If prompted, login with Username and password

DATABASES BY SUBJECT

 Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)

 

 

Advanced Manufacturing

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

 

Automotive Technology

 

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 General One File

 

 

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

 U.S. History (Gale in Context)

 

 

Biotechnology

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics. Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)


Science Reference Center is a library database that contains articles from academic journals, magazines, and other sources on a variety of science-related topics including: biology, chemistry, geology, aeronautics, environment, health & medicine, physics, technology and wildlife.

Science Reference Center (EBSCO)

 

 

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

 

Carpentry & Construction

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 General One File

 

 

 Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

 

 

Cosmetology

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 General One File

 

 

 Health and Wellness

 

 

 

 

Culinary Arts & Hospitality

 Culinary Arts & Hospitality (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 

Design & Visual Communications

 Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Information Science (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 

Early Childhood Education & Teaching

 

Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography (Gale in Context)

 

 Britannica Fundamentals Learning Zone

 

 

 

 Britannica Library Reference Center

 

 

 General One File

 

 Kids Infobits

 

 

 

 

Electrical

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business (Gale OneFile)

 

 

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests. Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 General One File

 

 

 Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

 

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

 U.S. History (Gale in Context)

 

 

Engineering Technology

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

 

Environmental Science

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 


Science Reference Center is a library database that contains articles from academic journals, magazines, and other sources on a variety of science-related topics including: biology, chemistry, geology, aeronautics, environment, health & medicine, physics, technology and wildlife.

Science Reference Center (EBSCO)

 

 

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests. Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 

Health Assisting

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics. Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Health and Wellness

 

 

 Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Psychology (Gale OneFile)

 

 

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

 

Horticulture & Landscaping Technology 

Agriculture provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. Researchers can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.

 Agriculture

 

 

Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests. Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)

 

 

Gale OneFile: Science provides information on the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology. Updated daily, Science has articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry and keep researchers current. Key subjects include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology. Science (Gale In Context)

 

 

 

Multimedia Engineering (Technical Theater)

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

Plumbing and HVAC-R

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

 

 

Programming & Web Development

 Information Science (Gale OneFile)

 

 

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

 

Robotics & Animation

This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. ProQuest Science Database

 

 

 

Welding & Metal Fabrication

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Business (Gale OneFile)

 

 

 Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

 

 
 
 

ProCon Organization (website by Britannica)
 
 
 
 

 Educator's Reference Complete

 

 

  eNotes For instructors of literature. Contact library staff for access code.

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.  Gale eBooks

 

 

 

WHAT ARE DATABASES & WHY SHOULD I USE THEM?

WHY USE DATABASES

Yavapai College Library Staff. "What Are Databases and Why You Need Them." Yavapai College Library, YouTube, 29 Sept. 2011, www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=3&v=Q2GMtIuaNzU&feature=emb_logo. Accessed 13 Mar. 2020.

WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A RESEARCH DATABASE AND GOOGLE?

University of Houston Libraries. (2020, April 14). What's the Difference between a Research Database and Google? YouTube. Retrieved October 25, 2021, from https://youtu.be/Zn3a3ZoiZCE

Library Media Specialist

Profile Photo
Ms. Gleason
Contact:
Minuteman High School
758 Marrett Road Lexington, MA 02421
781-372-2879