Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks (though the Boston Public Library)
Encyclopedias, ebooks, and other specialized reference sources covering the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including medicine, business, law, and more. Notice the Science and Technology subject tabs. See the tutorial.
JSTOR (through the Boston Public Library)
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Access to JSTOR is available with a free Boston Public Library E-Card. Be sure to save your card number & pin!
ScienceDirect provides subscription-based access to a large database of scientific and medical research. Sign up for a free account & consider selecting Open Source.
PLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.
Yavapai College Library Staff. "What Are Databases and Why You Need Them." Yavapai College Library, YouTube, 29 Sept. 2011, www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=3&v=Q2GMtIuaNzU&feature=emb_logo. Accessed 13 Mar. 2020.
University of Houston Libraries. (2020, April 14). What's the Difference between a Research Database and Google? YouTube. Retrieved October 25, 2021, from https://youtu.be/Zn3a3ZoiZCE
Trying to access a particular journal article that isn't available through school, your local public library, or the Boston Public Library databases? Try Illiad through the Boston Public Library. A free Boston Public Library E-Card is needed for use.
