Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Minuteman High School Library Media Center: Newspapers & Magazines

The Minuteman Library Media Center leads students to seek, find, evaluate, and create the information essential for lifelong learning.

NEWSPAPERS & MAGAZINES

Newspapers & Magazines

DAILY NEWSPAPERS ONLINE

The New York Times

Note: Limited access without a subscription.  Access the New York Times for free with a free Boston Public Library e-card.

Wall Street Journal

Note: Limited access without a subscription. Online edition is available with a free Boston Public Library ecard

The Boston Globe

Note: Limited access without a subscription. Minuteman HS does not have an online subscription to the daily Boston Globe, but see below for database access.

NEWS DATABASES

This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
 

 The Boston Globe (ProQuest Database)

 Coverage: 1980 - current

 

Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1985).
 
 
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines includes magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.

FLIPSTER DIGITAL MAGAZINES

Browse the full collection of magazine titles

Read these digital magazines from your computer or mobile device. Sign in with the username and password (this document is accessible when signed in to your Minuteman Office365 account).

Mobile Device: 

  1. Download the Flipster app from your mobile device’s app store
  2. Select your school “MINUTEMAN REG HIGH SCHOOL
  3. Enter the username and password (this document is accessible when signed in to your Minuteman Office365 account)
  4. These instructions only need to be done the first time.  After that opening the app will bring you to the magazines

HISTORIC AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS ONLINE

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, Library of Congress

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Elephind, Veridian Software

Elephind is a newspaper search engine for historic digitized newspapers around the world. It consists of thousands of historical newspaper titles. Elephind is much like Google, Bing, or other search engines but is focused on only historical, digitized newspapers.

WORLD NEWS DIGEST

World News Digest (Infobase), formerly known as Facts On File, provides summaries of world and domestic news stories 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information. Maps and charts are included, as are graphs, historic photographs, and story indexes by decade, country, and topic. Included are Facts and Statistics from World News Almanac, as well as news roundups on a variety of topics and regions. If prompted, login with Username and password

NEWSPAPER & MAGAZINE RESOURCES ACCESSIBLE WITH A BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY E-CARD

Boston Public Library Magazines & Newspapers Online Resources

Find and explore access to Overdrive digital magazines, Flipster digital magazines, the online Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Press Reader, and more. 

Boston Public Library (BPL) resources are available for free with a BPL ecard. The BPL is the state library of Massachusetts. All residents, students, and employees of Massachusetts are eligible for a Boston Public Library ecard account.

GOOGLE NEWS

Library Media Specialist

Profile Photo
Ms. Gleason
Contact:
Minuteman High School
758 Marrett Road Lexington, MA 02421
781-372-2879